François Dugast is a “kid” of the Nyon area where he lived there during all his youth and did his compulsory school, before going to law school at Lausanne University.

Once his bar exam passed in Geneva, he went to work in Zürich, then Montreal and finally New York. In 1991 he came back to Geneva and worked with the law firm where he had completed his internship, first as an associate and then as a partner in 1996.

In 2004, willing to see new horizons, François agreed to join Japan Tobacco International SA (“JTI”) and took the charge, at worldwide level, of General Counsel of this company. He thus overviewed about 200 lawyers spread over the planet and personally negotiated first level agreements with several governments, such as an agreement with the European Union and all the Member States to fight counterfeit and contraband of cigarettes.

In 2014, François left JTI and after a time to rest and think, started an interdisciplinary children’s rights master. After this new university title, François wanted to work as a lawyer at the bar again and to offer his experience of law and life to local people and companies. He also wishes to transmit his knowledge to younger lawyers.

The areas of focus of François are judicial and arbitral litigation, commercial law, company law, corporate social responsibility and compliance, trade finance and shipping, employment law, family law and children’s rights.

Sport enthusiast, François is a member of several local sports clubs and is committed to supporting local young athletes as well as runner of international level.

He is Of Counsel of ISA-Lex Avocats.

 

Education

  • Latin-English matura, Lausanne
  • Bachelor, doctorate, cum laude, University of Lausanne

Languages

  • English and French: fluent
  • German and Italian: good knowledge
  • Spanish: working knowledge

François Dugast est un enfant de la région nyonnaise où il a vécu toute sa jeunesse et effectué ses études obligatoires avant d’accomplir son droit à l’Université de Lausanne.

Une fois son brevet d’avocat obtenu à Genève, François est parti travailler à Zürich, puis à Montréal et enfin à New York. En 1991, il est revenu à Genève et a rejoint l’étude auprès de laquelle il avait effectué son stage, où il a travaillé pendant 5 ans comme collaborateur puis en est devenu associé en 1996.

En 2004, désireux de changer d’horizons, François a accepté une offre de Japan Tobacco International SA («JTI») et a pris la responsabilité au niveau mondial du service juridique de cette entreprise («General Counsel»). Il a ainsi supervisé près de 200 avocats répartis sur la planète et a personnellement négocié avec divers gouvernements des accords de premier plan, comme par exemple un accord destiné à lutter contre la contrefaçon et la contrebande de cigarettes, signé avec la Commission européenne et tous les Etats membres de l’Union européenne.

En 2014, François a quitté JTI et après un temps de réflexion et de répit, a entamé un master interdisciplinaire en droits de l’enfant. Parvenu au terme de cette nouvelle formation universitaire, François a souhaité relancer sa carrière d’avocat au barreau pour mettre son expérience du droit et de la vie au service des entreprises et des particuliers locaux. Il est également désireux de transmettre ses connaissances aux plus jeunes.

Les domaines de spécialisation de François sont le contentieux judiciaire et arbitral, le droit commercial et le droit des sociétés (parmi lesquels la responsabilité sociale, le contrôle de la conformité interne et le financement des entreprises), le droit maritime, le droit du travail, le droit de la famille et les droits de l’enfant.

Amoureux du sport, François est membre de nombreux clubs sportifs locaux et s’engage pour soutenir les jeunes sportifs de notre région ainsi qu’un coureur à pied de niveau international.

François est Of Counsel du cabinet ISA-Lex Avocats.

Formation

  • Maturité latin anglais, Lausanne
  • Licence en droit, section doctorat, cum laude, Université de Lausanne

Langues

  • Français et anglais : maîtrise
  • Allemand et italien : très bonnes connaissances
  • Espagnol : bonnes notions